Mason Film Festival 2017 Award Winners

MFF 17 Award Winners_cropped

Mason Film Festival 2017 - Announcing Festival and Academic Winners!

Congratulations to all students for your strong screenings and staged readings during the Mason Film Festival. Thank you to the FAVS Advisory Board for jurying our competition and awarding Pitch Awards that will help students in their productions. And to Film and Media Studies, GMU DKA and University Life for partnering in our event.

Jury Awards
Best Drama - Scott Kotwas STOP THE TIME
Best Experimental - Marie Karkehabadi SUNNY SIDE UP
Best Documentary - Jose Jimenez Alvarez AGAVE: THE CULTIVATION OF TRADITION
Best Comedy - Kyle Finnegan LOST SOCKS
Best Animation - Jacob Roberts POWER FREAK
Honorable Mention Jury Awards - Kiefer Inson INTRUSION, Amanda Bowen SOMETHING TO BELIEVE IN

Best Digital Pitch - Erblin Nushi (BINI)
Best Delivery - Jason Gilligan (YOGURT)
Best Story - Mitchell Hartigan (WIDE EYED)

Audience Awards
Audience Favorite Block 1 - Marie Karkehabadi SUNNY SIDE UP
Audience Favorite Block 2 - Kiefer Inson INTRUSION

Technical + Faculty Jury Awards
Best Cinematography - Jamie Sullivan BUNSO dir Roberto de Cecco
Best Editing - Tara Tung INTRUSION dir Kiefer Inson
Best Sound Design - Scott Kotwas STOP THE TIME dir Scott Kotwas
Best Producing - Livia Elgart PARALLEL dir Cameron Perrier
Best Production Design - Darcelle Larkin, LOST SOCKS dir Kyle Finnegan
Special Technical Award for VFX - David Mason and Nathan Taylor SUNNY SIDE UP dir Marie Karkehabadi
Best Short Screenplay - Roberto de Cecco and Josh Denty BUNSO dir Roberto De Cecco
Honorable Mention, Faculty Recognition - Michael Kamel, TEA PARTY

Capstone Awards
Distinction in Cinematography - Andrew Jorgenson
Distinction in Editing - Mikayla Fridley
Distinction in Producing - Chris Rothgeb
Distinction in Screenwriting - Austin Crooch (THE ENTREPRENEUR)

Academic Achievement Awards
Academic Excellence - Amanda Bowen
Academic Achievement - Marie Karkehabadi
Professional Achievement Award (outstanding accomplishments in professional preparation) - Janay Flemming, Michael Kamel, Darcelle Larkin
FAVS Service Award - Andrew Jorgenson